2018 TECT Trustee Election - Candidates Announced

1 June 2018
2018 TECT Trustee Election - Candidates Announced

It’s election time again for the Tauranga Energy Consumer Trust and the Trust has again appointed Warwick Lampp from electionz.com Ltd as its independent returning officer to manage the process.

The Trust is administered by six trustees, with three trustees retiring by rotation every two years. Nominations closed for the 2018 TECT election at midday Friday 1st June.

Independent Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, says that this year there has again been strong interest in the election with 19 candidates nominated for the three positions available on the Trust.  This compares to 11 candidates in 2016, 19 candidates in 2014, and 23 in 2012. The confirmed candidates for the 2018 election are:

ARUNDEL                              Mark

BLACKWELL                          Pete

CAMERON                             John (JC)

CHAMBERLAIN                       Ron

EDLIN                                     Bev

JENNEN                                 Tina

JONKERS                              Willem

LEWIS                                    Pamela

MILN                                      Alex

NEILSON                                Frank

NESDALE                              Sheldon

PURCHES                              Graeme

RHODES                                Hylton

ROWE-MITCHELL                   Valerie

SUMMERHAYS                      Karen

TRAPPITT                               Phillip

WHEELER                              Stephen

WHITE                                    Peter

WILLIAMS                               Kim


Current trustees Paul Tustin and Ron Scott have chosen not to stand, but Pete Blackwell is re-standing. 

The election is being carried out by both internet and postal voting, with voter packs being sent out on Monday 25th June.  This is the seventh election for TECT that has used online voting, but consumers can only vote using one method.  If votes are received by both internet and post from the same consumer, both their votes will be invalid.  Each consumer is entitled to one vote irrespective of how many power connections they may have.  Voting closes at midday on Friday 20th July.


Any queries about the election of Trustees or eligibility to vote can be made to the Independent Returning  Officer, Warwick Lampp, on the election helpline 0800 666 029.

Warwick Lampp
Independent Returning Officer – TECT
0800 666 029
021 498 517

About electionz.com Ltd
electionz.com is New Zealand’s leading election services provider, having provided election services in New Zealand since July 2000 to hundreds of public and private organisations.  Based in Christchurch, electionz.com provides a full Returning/Electoral Officer service on contract to private and public organisations, as well as internet voting, telephone voting, internet surveys, vote processing and counting by scanning technology for both First Past the Post (FPP) and Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting systems.


Newsletter Signup