The TECT Community Awards are here - online!

While our original March event was postponed due to the lockdown, we are looking forward to recognising those in our community who make the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live, in an online event hosted over 6 weeks. 

From community groups restoring our region and supporting those most vulnerable, to volunteers who give their time in so many ways, we can't wait to celebrate their incredible work. 

Learn about the incredible work of our finalists, and join us in the countdown each week as we reveal our winners, starting from Monday 22 June. We will be posting videos here on our website and Facebook, and posting photos on our Instagram, every weekday. 

Keen to join us? Make sure you LIKE our Facebook page today!

Online Awards Schedule

Award Category
Mon 22 - Fri 26 June
Event Excellence Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 29 June - Fri 3 July
Sustainable Future Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 6 - Fri 10 July
Diversity and Inclusion Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 13 - Fri 17 July
Rising Star Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 20 - Fri 24 July
Youth Spirit Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 27 - Fri 31 July
Volunteer of the Year Award finalists, winner announced Friday 7pm
Mon 3 Aug
Lifetime Service Award Winner Announced

The TECT Community Awards have been designed to bring together all those who are involved in the not-for-profit sector; a celebration and recognition of those in our community helping make the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live.

This will also be a fantastic opportunity for people to come together, to meet, network and to build deeper relationships with others working towards common goals. And we'll have some spectacular entertainment along the way.

Congratulations to Our Finalists

Congratulations to everyone who submitted a nomination or was nominated by someone for the TECT Community Awards. We received an overwhelming number of high-calibre nominations and our judges were truly impressed by the fantastic work being done in our community by non-profit groups, volunteers and young changemakers. 

The 2020 finalists are:

Event Excellence Award

• Katikati Festival of Cultures
• Pasifika in the Bay Festival
• Tauranga Fringe Village Festival
• Tarnished Frocks and Divas
• Tauranga STEM Festival (STEMFest)

Sustainable Future Award

• Bay Conservation Alliance
• Good Neighbour Aotearoa Trust
• Maketu Ongatoro Wetland Society
• Western Bay Wildlife Trust
• YSAR Tauranga Trust

Diversity and Inclusion Award

• Blue Light
• Recreate NZ
• The Search Party Charitable Trust
• Wish 4 Fish
• Youth Encounter Ministries Trust

Rising Star Award

• Bay Originals
• Gender Dynamix
• RRR - Rescue Revive Rehome
• TCSC Creative Group

Youth Spirit Award

• Brylee Comer
• Irene Vakasiuola
• Jack Miller
• James Power
• Louis Donovan

Volunteer of the Year Award

• Brett Williamson
• Bryce Dinneen
• Elise Rohde
• Lex Spencer
• Sam Fellows
• Trevor Clist

Who Was Eligible for the TECT Community Awards?

Any not-for-profit organisation or volunteer in the Western Bay of Plenty could be nominated for the TECT Community Awards. Groups did not have to have received funding from TECT to apply. The Awards are based on activities undertaken in the previous 12 months.

Who Could Nominate a Group for the Awards?

Anyone could make a nomination in any of the 6 award categories. Nominators did not need to be directly associated with the group/person being nominated.

What are the Categories?

The TECT Community Awards are divided into six categories. If, in the view of the judges, an entry met the criteria for consideration under another category, the judges reserved the right to transfer the entry to that category.

  • Rising Star Award – recognising and encouraging emerging grassroots groups in our community.
  • Event Excellence Award – recognising an event that has excelled in bringing our community together.
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award – recognising an innovative initiative which supports diversity and inclusion within our community.
  • Sustainable Future Award – recognising a group that demonstrates sustainable practices embedded into the organisational strategy, vision and operations.
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – recognising an individual who has made a significant contribution to the community.
  • Youth Spirit Award – recognising an individual under 25 who embodies community spirit through their contribution to the community.

How Were the Awards Judged?

A panel made up of community representatives Allison Stewart, Carlo Ellis and Paul Geoghegan judged the entries. The key criteria considered by judges were:

  • Impact on community - benefit of service/project on the wider community
  • Innovation and creativity - utilises innovative ideas and new approaches.
  • Effectiveness of activities - success of service, achievement or objectives
  • Use of resources - cost effectiveness, sustainability, and volunteering involvement and commitment 
  • Collaboration – evidence of collaboration and partnerships

In partnership with


This product has been added to your cart