The Western Bay Community Awards bring together all those who are involved in the Western Bay's community and volunteer sector; to celebrate and acknowledge their incredible community work that is helping make the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live.

The Western Bay Community Awards are delivered by TECT, Acorn Foundation, BayTrust, Tauranga City Council, and Western Bay of Plenty District Council.

All 30 of the 2024 finalists were showcased online for six weeks before the awards ceremony at Baycourt on the 21st March 2024 where the winners were announced.

Congratulations to our 2024 community award winners, and a massive thank you for the incredible mahi you do!

Thank you to our photographer Andrew Warner.

Congratulations to our finalists!

Congratulations to everyone who submitted a nomination or was nominated by someone for the Western Bay Community Awards. We received so many incredible nominations and our judges were inspired by the work being done in our community by not-for-profits, volunteers and young changemakers.

The 2024 finalists are:

Event Excellence Award

Anzac Bay Waipaopao Summer Kick-Off Festival
Flavours of Plenty
Tauranga Fish & Dive Club – Placemakers Kids Fishing Competition
Papamoa ‘Light Up the Waterway’ Matariki
2023 Zespri AIMS Games

Heart of the Community Award

Katch Katikati
Kura Kai
Tauranga Volunteer Coastguard
The Incubator Creative Hub

Sustainable Future Award

ARRC Wildlife Trust
Live Well Waihi Beach
Ngapeke Permaculture Project
Otanewainuku Kiwi Trust
Taking Back Our Beach

Youth Spirit Award

Blessing Pasi
Kate Dekker
Isla Willacy
Liam Shanahan
Mason Bollee

Diversity and Inclusion Award

Bay of Plenty Sports and Cultural Club
Kai Aroha
Multicultural Tauranga
STEAM-ED Charitable Trust

Volunteer of the Year Award

Aidan Kuka
Bryan Winters
Mary Dillon
Melanie Gearon
Sam Fellows

In partnership with


This product has been added to your cart