TECT Community Awards

The TECT Community Awards, originally scheduled for Thursday 19th March, have been postponed until further notice.

While the risk of community outbreak of COVID-19 remains low, the health and safety of our community is paramount to us. Given the government’s current guidelines and restrictions on large public gatherings, we feel this precautionary measure is in the best interest of our community, particularly to protect those who are more vulnerable in our society. With so many incredible community groups and volunteers planned to be in attendance at the awards, we would not wish to jeopardize their health or the health of those they work with.

We appreciate your understanding and will advise a rescheduled date in the coming months.

The TECT Community Awards have been designed to bring together all those who are involved in the not-for-profit sector; a celebration and recognition of those in our community helping make the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live.

This will also be a fantastic opportunity for people to come together, to meet, network and to build deeper relationships with others working towards common goals. And we'll have some spectacular entertainment along the way.

Congratulations to Our Finalists

Congratulations to everyone who submitted a nomination or was nominated by someone for the TECT Community Awards. We received an overwhelming number of high-calibre nominations and our judges were truly impressed by the fantastic work being done in our community by non-profit groups, volunteers and young changemakers. 

The 2020 finalists are:

Event Excellence Award

• Katikati Festival of Cultures
• Pasifika in the Bay Festival
• Tauranga Fringe Village Festival
• Tarnished Frocks and Divas
• Tauranga STEM Festival (STEMFest)

Sustainable Future Award

• Bay Conservation Alliance
• Good Neighbour Aotearoa Trust
• Maketu Ongatoro Wetland Society
• Western Bay Wildlife Trust
• YSAR Tauranga Trust

Diversity and Inclusion Award

• Blue Light
• Recreate NZ
• The Search Party Charitable Trust
• Wish 4 Fish
• Youth Encounter Ministries Trust

Rising Star Award

• Bay Originals
• Gender Dynamix
• RRR - Rescue Revive Rehome
• TCSC Creative Group

Youth Spirit Award

• Brylee Comer
• Irene Vakasiuola
• Jack Miller
• James Power
• Louis Donovan

Volunteer of the Year Award

• Brett Williamson
• Bryce Dinneen
• Elise Rohde
• Lex Spencer
• Sam Fellows
• Trevor Clist

Who Was Eligible for the TECT Community Awards?

Any not-for-profit organisation or volunteer in the Western Bay of Plenty could be nominated for the TECT Community Awards. Groups did not have to have received funding from TECT to apply. The Awards are based on activities undertaken in the previous 12 months.

Who Could Nominate a Group for the Awards?

Anyone could make a nomination in any of the 6 award categories. Nominators did not need to be directly associated with the group/person being nominated.

What are the Categories?

The TECT Community Awards are divided into six categories. If, in the view of the judges, an entry met the criteria for consideration under another category, the judges reserved the right to transfer the entry to that category.

  • Rising Star Award – recognising and encouraging emerging grassroots groups in our community.
  • Event Excellence Award – recognising an event that has excelled in bringing our community together.
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award – recognising an innovative initiative which supports diversity and inclusion within our community.
  • Sustainable Future Award – recognising a group that demonstrates sustainable practices embedded into the organisational strategy, vision and operations.
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – recognising an individual who has made a significant contribution to the community.
  • Youth Spirit Award – recognising an individual under 25 who embodies community spirit through their contribution to the community.

How Were the Awards Judged?

A panel made up of community representatives Allison Stewart, Carlo Ellis and Paul Geoghegan judged the entries. The key criteria considered by judges were:

  • Impact on community - benefit of service/project on the wider community
  • Innovation and creativity - utilises innovative ideas and new approaches.
  • Effectiveness of activities - success of service, achievement or objectives
  • Use of resources - cost effectiveness, sustainability, and volunteering involvement and commitment 
  • Collaboration – evidence of collaboration and partnerships

The decisions of the judges is final. Representatives of the nominated community groups and those who nominated will be invited to attend the Awards function, which will be held Thursday 19th March 2020.

Category winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony. A Lifetime Service Award winner will also be announced on the night of the Awards.

In partnership with


This product has been added to your cart