TECT is governed by six trustees who are elected by beneficiaries for a 4-year term. 

The terms of appointment of trustees are staggered so that three trustees retire every two years.  The next election of trustees will be held in 2024. The trustees, acting in accordance with the trust deed, are responsible for ensuring that the trust operates according to its key roles and meets all its regulatory and legal requirements.

Bill Holland


Bill was elected as a trustee in July 2012, was re-elected in July 2016, and re-elected again in July 2020.  He has been Chairperson of TECT since August 2014. Bill was born, raised and educated in Tauranga, has spent all of his working life here and is passionate about the area and its people.

Mark Arundel

Deputy Chairperson

Mark was elected as a trustee in July 2018, and was re-elected in November 2022. Mark shares a vision of healthy, thriving communities where health, activity and connectedness are fostered for all. He brings nearly four decades of Community Pharmacy and health related experience alongside governance and management roles.

Kate Barry-Piceno

Kate was elected as a trustee in November 2022. She is a practising barrister who specialises in resource management law and has considerable experience in local government, administrative and employment law. Kate has served on a number of boards in the past, including Surf Life Saving NZ and NZ Garden and Art Festival Trust, and is currently the Chair of Mount Main Street.

Peter Farmer

Peter was elected as a trustee in July 2020. He is founder and owner with his son of the Farmer Group which includes Farmer Autovillage. Peter has been involved with various community organisations such as: chair of Bay Venues, deputy chair of Waipuna Hospice, founding member of Priority One and Acorn Foundation, board member of Tauranga Riding for the Disabled, NZ Avocado and NZ Motor Trade Association. Peter is also initiator/funder of Takitimu Drive and RSA Papamoa Flag Poles, as well as supporter/funder of numerous other local community projects.

Rachael Gemming

Rachael was appointed as a trustee in September 2022. She is a Chartered Accountant and corporate tax specialist, with experience supporting large organisations. Rachael lives in Welcome Bay with her husband and 3 school-aged children. Rachael is passionate about supporting TECT to thrive for the next generation. 

Peter Blackwell

Pete was elected as a trustee in July 2014, re-elected in July 2018, and re-elected again in 2022. Pete retired as a Detective Sergeant in the NZ Police in 2014 and lives at the Mount with his wife and son, with 3 elder children having left home. Pete's passion is to make this community a better place and as such has worked hard to make a difference.

Future Directors
Institute of Directors New Zealand

TECT has joined as a host board for The Future Directors® programme through the Institute of Directors New Zealand. The programme is designed for the next generation of directors, where Future Directors are invited to sit on a company’s board and participate in all board matters. However, they are not permitted to vote.

The programme provides people with governance potential and ambition the opportunity to participate on a board. As well as benefitting Future Directors through mentorship, host boards benefit from exposure to diverse talent, ideas, and experiences.

TECT has assigned two Future Directors for 12 months until the end of July 2024.

Cory Dixon

Cory is a Chartered Accountant recognised for his commercial acumen and people-first approach. Cory is excited about the valuable personal and professional experience the role of Future Director will provide while enabling him to give back to a city he loves, now and into the future.

Laura Gaveika

Laura is an Event and Project Manager with significant interest and experience in finding the best governance practice through working for IOD NZ and as a trustee of various other boards. Laura is keen to share her learnings and apply this knowledge to support governance within our community, especially through sharing her values and skills around applying tikanga into governance decision making.


This product has been added to your cart